HAPPY THANKSGIVING: A Super Short Post

turkey

So apparently Thanksgiving isn’t really a thing in London, which I get since they aren’t really about that whole pilgrim life. However, I figured that even though I won’t be celebrating the holiday as I usually do, I should still take the time to reflect on what I am thankful for.

I am thankful for so many things like my family, my friends, my dog, and basically my life. It’s been pretty awesome so far (I really hope I’m not jinxing it!) but the one thing that really stands out to me right now is how thankful I am for the opportunity to study abroad.

Of course I am thankful for all of the traveling that I have been able to do all over Europe (It’s literally been UNREAL,) but what I am most thankful for are the lessons I have learned.

When you are in a completely new environment surrounded by people from a totally different culture (NO! LONDON IS NOT LIKE AMERICA!) you learn a lot about yourself, and even more so about your relationships with other people.

I’m going to keep this short (like me) because people don’t like to read long things when they’re super full, but I’ve learned exactly who I am, what I want, and who the most important people in my life are.

The ones who have reached out to me and stayed in contact with me and showed me love and kindness while I’ve been away truly hold a special place in my heart. Everyone has their fun friends and their study friends and their in-school friends, but I learned who my REAL friends are.

I know I’m being as mushy as those delicious mashed potatoes I’m missing out on back home, but I cannot begin to explain how happy it makes me to know that even when I am an ocean away, my beautiful friends and family are still here for me.

Being away has put into perspective how much these people mean to, and that although I am LOVING my time traveling and experiencing new things, I am thankful that when I return, I will come back to family and friends who I am certain will be there for me forever and always. How fucking blessed am I?!

Happy Thanksgiving to all!  See you in a month!! ❤

Leave a Reply

